Workshops
Each conference delegate will be able to chose one workshop from the ten options listed below on Wednesday and one workshop from the other list of ten workshops on Thursday. Each workshop will run from 9.30am - 1pm.


WEDNESDAY, 3rd APRIL 2019


1. Biospheres as Climate Change Observatories: Innovations in Climate Change monitoring and adaptation, and opportunities for citizen engagement.
Chair: Andy Bell (North Devon Biosphere) & Maryann Harris (Dublin Bay Biosphere).
Contact: andrew.bell@devon.gov.uk / maryann.harris@dublincity.ie

2. Strengthening the status of Biosphere Reserves within EU Policy & Legislation: How Biospheres can contribute to, and be test sites for, best practice in EU and International Policy, and to deliver common objectives particularly around social cohesion, regional development and the environment.
Chair: Martin Price (UK MAB) & Micheal O'Briain (European Commission)
Contact: Martin.Price.perth@uhi.ac.uk / Micheal.O'Briain@ec.europa.eu

3. Tackling Marine Plastics: Showcasing existing initiatives and progressing opportunities and guidance for citizen action & government action
Chair: Eva Cardona (Menorca Biosphere), Bethany Jorgensen (Marine Science for Society) & Aquilino Miguélez (Lanzarote Biosphere)
Contact: wnibr.menorca@cime.es / bj265@cornell.edu / observatorio@cabildodelanzarote.com

4. Developing & implementing Codes of Practice for responsible tourism in sensitive areas: Practicalities of working with tourism providers in the development and implementation of Codes of Practice
Chair: Gabriel Cooney (University College Dublin)
Contact: gabriel.cooney@ucd.ie

5. Partnerships with universities & research institutes – co-development of projects & funding proposals: How Biosphere managers and researchers can co-develop projects which meet the practical needs of Biosphere managers and the academic requirements of researchers, and which can be used to secure funding (e.g. Interreg, Life, H2020)
Chair: Catherine Cibien (MAB France) & Matthew Cragoe (UK MAB)
Contact: catherine.cibien@mab-france.org / mcragoe@lincoln.ac.uk

6. Protecting & promoting Indigenous Languages: Identifying actions that can be taken by individual biospheres, and the EuroMAB Network as a whole, to progress the 5 key areas identified by the 2019 UN year of Indigenous Languages
Chair: Aodhan MacCormaic (Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht)
Contact: aodhan.maccormaic@chg.gov.ie

7. Role of biospheres when engaging with local enterprises (business charters & branding/ regional product labelling): Opportunities to implement the ‘Development’ goal of Biospheres
Chair: Ed Forrest (Galloway & Southern Ayrshire Biosphere) & Mary MacSweeney (Dublin Bay Biosphere)
Contact: ed@gsabiosphere.org.uk / mary.macsweeney@dublincity.ie

8. Empowering youth & the MAB Youth Forum: Progressing the objectives of the MAB Youth Forum, and strengthening opportunities for Youth empowerment through involvement in the governance & management of biospheres
Chair: Nekane Viota (UNESCO Etxea), Alice Roth (MAB France) Cristina Boccaccini (Po Delta)
Contact: n.viota@unescoetxea.org / alice.roth@mab-france.org / cristinaboccaccini87@gmail.com

9. Biospheres and ecosystem services: Identification of ESS within individual BRs and developing ESS action plans. BR Guide to Ecosystem Services
Chair: Gerry Clabby (Dublin Bay Biosphere) & Liette Vasseur (Brock University)
Contact: Gerry.Clabby@chg.gov.ie / lvasseur@brocku.ca


THURSDAY, 4th APRIL 2019

1.Engagement through Art & Culture: Encouraging/understanding nature conservation & engaging communities through art & culture
Chair: Ruairí Ó Cuív (Dublin Bay Biosphere) & Toomas Kokovkin (MAB Estonia)
Contact: ruairi.ocuiv@dublincity.ie / toomas@pelagis.eu

2. Building synergies between natural, cultural & built heritage sites: Strengthening links between Biospheres, World Heritage Sites, Geoparks, and other designations
Chair: Barbara Engels (MAB Germany) & Gerry Clabby (Dublin Bay Biosphere)
Contact: Barbara.Engels@BfN.de / Gerry.Clabby@chg.gov.ie

3. Protecting & Promoting coastal & marine life: Practicalities for Marine Protected Areas & Stewardship
Chair: Francesca Santoro (IOC UNESCO) & Antonello Provenzale (Italian National Council for Research)
Contact: f.santoro@unesco.org / antonello.provenzale@cnr.it

4. The role of biospheres in ecotourism: Bio-cultural Heritage Tourism: Opportunities for creating new models of ecotourism, such as Biocultural Heritage Tourism
Chair: Kelly Cerialo (Paul Smith’s College USA), Camille Belurier (Iroise Biosphere) & Adeline Gladieux (North Devon Biosphere)
Contact: kcerialo@paulsmiths.edu / camille.belurier@pnr-armorique.fr / adeline.gladieux@devon.gov.uk

5. Developing research forums/platforms & courses/qualifications to improve links between biospheres & research institutes: Developing platforms/forums for sharing research, showcasing Ecobroker. WikiMAB and the Biosphere Journal, and opportunities for Biosphere specific courses/ qualifications/ work placements.
Chair: Inger Elisabeth Måren (UNESCO Chair) & Pam Shaw (Mount Arrowsmith Biosphere)
Contact: Inger.Maaren@uib.no / Pam.Shaw@viu.ca

6. Contribution of the MAB Programme and its World Network Of Biosphere Reserves to the process of development of the post 2020 Global Biodiversity Framework: How the MAB Programme can effectively contribute to the preparation of the Post 2020 Global Strategic Framework
Chair: Oliviero Montanaro (Italian Ministry of the Environment, Land and Sea)
Contact: Montanaro.oliviero@minambiente.it

7. How Biospheres can contribute to the circular economy: Opportunities for Biospheres to be role models and engage with local organisations
Chair: Mary MacSweeney (Dublin Bay Biosphere) & Marie McNulty (Galloway & Southern Ayrshire Biosphere),
Contact: mary.macsweeney@dublincity.ie / marie@gsabiosphere.org.uk

8. Best practices in engaging young people: Initiatives to engage with young as a target audience for Biosphere communications/ education, with case studies on the Brent Goose Ambassadors, Outdoor Geogames, Junior Rangers, & MaB Youth Camps
Chair: Alice Roth (MAB France) Cristina Boccaccini (Po Delta)
Contact: alice.roth@mab-france.org / cristinaboccaccini87@gmail.com

9. Biosphere reserve landscapes as resources for human health and well-being: Developing and promoting these ecosystem services within Biospheres
Chair: Kevin Halpenny (Dublin Bay Biosphere) & Arne Arnberger (MAB Austria)
Contact: Kevin.Halpenny@fingal.ie / arne.arnberger@boku.ac.at

10. Continental Aquatic Ecosystems MAB Network: Network Meeting
Chair: Olivier Guerri and Raphaël Michau (France – Dordogne basin BR - EPIDOR) and Giuseppe Castaldelli (Italy – Delta Po BR - Professor at the University of Ferrara)
Contact: r.michau@eptb-dordogne.fr

ABOUT THE WORKSHOPS

All workshops will follow a similar format to ensure that outcomes are delivered. Each workshop will be split into two 90-minute sessions, as set out below.

Session 1 (9:30am-11:00am)

  • Overview of Best Practices, including opportunities, challenges, and relevance to the Sustainable Development Goals and Lima Action Plan (by Facilitator - 25mins)

  • Experiences from around the Biosphere Network (by pre-arranged Biosphere contributors, max. 5min/Biosphere - 30mins)

  • Experiences from workshop participants (by Workshop participants – 30mins)

  • Overview of format for Session 2 (by Facilitator – 5mins)

Session 2 (11:30am-1:00pm)

  • Identification of ‘Practical Actions’ that can be achieved locally, resulting in 1 preferred option for further development and reporting back (by workshop participants - 20mins)

  • Identification of ‘Big Ideas’ that can be achieved through collaborative action, resulting in 1 preferred option for further development and reporting back (by workshop participants - 20mins)

  • Further development of preferred ‘Practical Action’, including required actions, key milestones, responsibility, resources required, and communicating progress (by workshop participants - 20mins)

  • Further development of preferred ‘Big Idea’, including required actions, key milestones, responsibility, resources required, and communicating progress (by workshop participants - 20mins)

  • Reporting back/ Wrap-up (by Facilitator – 10mins)

* Please note that all workshop are subject to changes. Changes, if necessary, will be updated and communicate to delegates.